Mania Dance

My current ‘episode’ has literally been all over the place.  Its been almost a month.  Few days with no sleep and mild elevation, then 5 days with sleep and balanced mood, and since then its been a dance.  From mild to moderate to mild to an almost balance, only to go back to moderate again.  During this time it included a lot of not sleeping well, and a day here a day there of good sleep. Lots of doing stuff.

To be honest, this manic phase whether it be hypomanic or more manic, has brought back my ability to write.  And I am loving every minute of it.  I am almost afraid for it to be over because I am afraid that it will take with it my ability to create interesting and deep articles.  Which right now I am churning out more then 2 a day, whether I post it right away or whether I have it written on paper, I am doing fantastic with it.   And it is helping immensely.   I am terrified that when this episode departs…..so will my writing.

I have likened this phase to a dance. 

I sat last night and began writing on paper and was trying to figure out what I meant by saying it was a dance.

Tap Dance:  I know it is not a tap dance. Tap is a dance that uses feet movements to create a tapping sound.  And although it is a wonderful thing to watch, especially in the river dance form, I know I am not doing a Tap dance.

Tango:  It takes two to tango!  In the tango the male dancer leads the female dancer.  Although sometimes I do feel like I am two separate people, I am not being lead into a dance by a male dance partner.

Foxtrot:  This dance is a mixture of slow and fast dance steps together.  Okay, maybe we are getting somewhere with this episode I have been balanced, slow, fast, super fast etc.  But still its not the beautiful movements of the foxtrot.

Hip Hop:  This is a street style dance defined by street moves, lots of color and lets not forget attitude.  Nope nothing here to see.  No street dancing for me, no color.  Perhaps some attitude, at least the past couple of days with the irritation I am feeling.

Waltz:  Elegant flowing movements.  Who am I kidding, I am far from elegant and flowing.  Nothing pretty about this dance I am dancing. So definitely not a waltz.

Then it hits me….I know what kind of dance I am dancing.

The Hokey Pokey

You know the one. That children’s dance.  It goes something like this:

You put your right hand in
You put your right hand out
You put your right hand in
And you shake it all about
You do the Hokey Pokey and you
Turn yourself around
Thats what its all about!

Replace right hand, with left, then right foot, then left, then head, body etc.

I have been doing the Hokey Pokey for a while now.  Its like I stick my left foot into the mania, take my left foot out, put my left foot in and I shake it all about.

Like my mind and body are testing the waters of mania, then back out.  Its actually kind of confusing this time around.

Although dance is such a beautiful and elegant form of art, this Hokey Pokey that I am doing is anything but.  It is uncoordinated, and frustrating and definitely not pretty.

What are your thoughts on this?  Have you experienced anything similar?

cooltext115215634361661

About bipolarwhisper

Mental health blogger. Bipolar, PTSD, OCD, Anxiety. Lover of butterflies. Risen out of the ashes like a phoenix. Survivor. Contact me at: Email: bipolarwhispers@gmail.com Twitter: @bipolarwhisper
This entry was posted in Bipolar Disorder and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mania Dance

  1. Zoe says:

    I relate my emotions to amusement parks and rides. Dance is a word I use sometimes, specifically tango because I view the bipolar thing as another person… so it’s kind of like a tango and we’re battling for who gets to lead (I don’t play by gender rules in life or dance.) I need metaphors in my life all the time. I need to visualize these things in order to tell myself apart from them.

    Like

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      I had a nice long reply and just lost it. (by the way I am late responding because for some reason this was picked up by my spam folder, but that is fixed now)

      I need metaphors as well, sometimes it is just what I need to do to make the emotional or mental health problem more physical and easy to understand. Especially for anyone who many stumble on my blog and not really understand. Plus its super easy for me to write in metaphors.

      I agree with your view of the Tango, I never really thought about thinking about the Bipolar disorder as a different person. And to be honest gender rules suck. I don’t believe in them either 🙂

      Like

  2. foxatck21 says:

    I know how you feel. The last four-six weeks have been incredibly up and down. Don’t worry…you’re not alone and you’ll get through it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Its good to hear that I am not alone, though at times I wish that no one else had to deal with this.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m totally intrigued by your posts on mania. As someone with BP type 2, I’m not sure if I’ve ever experienced hypomania. I think there could have been a chance I did this past summer when I was on Tegretol, but it’s really difficult for me to figure it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      I think there is a fine line between mania and hypomania. When I was first diagnosed it was said that it was most likely type 2 but he was unsure completely. But since then I have had some worst episodes. Paranoia can be huge, like seeing someone texting and thinking they are being vindictive or hiding something. My psychiatrist has said mania on numerous occasions now instead of hypomania.

      Like

Leave a Reply

