Writers Block

I am so frustrated right now. Because I cannot write. I am on the verge of tears because I am unable to put words together to make something worth posting. I cannot even get my mind wrapped around a topic and just start writing about it.

Is it bad if I would rather be manic and writing than balanced and lose my writing ability again?

I cannot lose it.

cooltext115215634361661

About bipolarwhisper

Mental health blogger. Bipolar, PTSD, OCD, Anxiety. Lover of butterflies. Risen out of the ashes like a phoenix. Survivor. Contact me at: Email: bipolarwhispers@gmail.com Twitter: @bipolarwhisper
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Writers Block

  1. When I can’t write, I read the best thing I can find (often a novel or essays). After a few hours or possibly a couple of days, I have lots of ideas again. It really helps. Make sure it is fantastic writing though – writing you really love and wish you could produce.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yve's Corner says:

    Totally feel you on this. I have hit a dry spell too. I wish mania wasn’t so destructive. … I wish psychosis wasn’t so spooky. But at least then, it seemed easier to write.

    hope it all works out for you though.

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Whispers, Fear not!! I just read your post and your writing seems fine. But this is happening to me, too, right now, but I’ve recovered somewhat.

    As you may know, I may have told you, I stopped Adderall, and paid a high price in sudden and deep depression. Now I’m back to sub ‘normal.’ I’m going out of the house and doing things. I’m not enjoying it, but at least I’m out there in the world, circulating again.

    I, too, only seem to be able to write when manic. So I’ve been struggling with writer’s block all week. I knew this would happen when I made the decision to stop taking Adderall. I knew that I wouldn’t feel as motivated, creative etc. Don’t worry. The most unsettling thing is feeling like I suddenly have an unfamiliar brain, a slower, more silent brain, a brain that isn’t mine! And I’m stuck with it!

    Non mood disordered and thought disordered (schiz probs) people consistently have the same brain day in, day out. They don’t experience having the rug pulled out from under them and having to make do with a whole new set of unfamiliar tools, slower brain waves and less motivation. I found this last twelve days terrifying.

    Here’s what I did. I went and saw my shrink and we upgraded me back up to a stronger antidepressant. The ‘rescue’ antidepressant that I hold in reserve for times like these is called Brintellix. It’s the atom bomb and has heavy duty nausea if you don’t eat a big meal. Only use it when in trouble like this. It’s my ‘rescue’ antidepressant.

    I don’t know if you are on antidepressant therapy…it’s not appropriate for all bipolars but it’s mandatory for me. Then, since when I sat at my computer and couldn’t make any progress and wondered If I’d ever get thru writer’s block, I began to write by hand, with my fav music in background. I was in a lot of waiting rooms and am on couch a lot with broken foot bone, so I am writing snippets of ideas by hand. With music. Then returned to computer with the idea that:

    “Yes, there are less words. No matter, I want to stop squandering words anyhow. I had writer’s block on story of being involuntarily locked up. It disturbed me to even think about it, but that’s depression for you. I wrote down ideas, came in here and logged into “Indie 103.1” out of LA and began to put the ideas together. They are good and they are raw. I’m not bothering to run them through an artistic filter of any kind. and I don’t want them to suck. In addition, I’ve been reading instead of writing. Classics like Tess of the D’Ubervilles and the New York Times. I’m studying other people’s writing for a change. I studied your writing. It’s good now and it was good then.

    I think we can still write when we are depressed but it’s nowhere near as fun. My heart goes out to you. I’m not having fun when I write but by 1/32nd every day, I seem to be getting a little bit better. bipolarbrainiac

    Liked by 1 person

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      Thank you for reading and replying. I am currently not depress, nor manic, I am stuck in this weird place. I know it is a balanced place at least for the most part, but its just, I don’t know how to explain it.

      I am sorry that you are experiencing writers block as well and depression. I hope that the rescue antidepressant works well for you and you find yourself back in a better place.

      Hope that your foot is doing better as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Tessa says:

    I have the same problem, but this time I am really stable and not depressed so I am still able to write. Depression is a little harder to beat.Hope you find you inspirations soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      Thanks Tessa. I can sometimes write when depressed, it depends, although I must admit it is a darker, deeper kind of writing that comes from the pits of inner despair. But right now even though for the most part I am well and balanced, its a weird place for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. hbhatnagar says:

    I wonder the same too. Uncontrolled emotions pour forth as words, sanity never seems to even touch those depths or attain those heights.
    Hope you’re feeling better though. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. foxatck21 says:

    It’s not bad and it’s not forever. You have to allow yourself to have time away from it and choose to believe you’re not losing it forever.

    I know the feeling. I couldn’t write for two months and when I finally could I was completely relieved.

    And you’ll have that moment too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bipolarwhisper says:

      Thanks, I guess it scares me because I had my ability to write lost for a year or just over a year, and when I try to write and cannot I get anxiety that I am losing it again and that is something I do not ever want to go through again.

      I am glad that your ability came back 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

