OCD and Counting

I have OCD as you all know.  Sometimes it seems to be a lot worst than other times.

Yesterday was one of those days.

Just bad, bad, bad.

When I do things it has to be in even numbers and I tend to do them in sixes most of the time.  Yesterday was way worst than normal.

I was running on little sleep, which is not altogether that strange for me.  But things have been a bit stressful and the combination of no sleep and other issues just seemed to combine and really cause some issues.

I counted while I brushed my teeth (I do this anyway) I counted using soap to wash my hands, I counted while rinsing my hands and I counted while drying them, had to do it a certain number of times and had to do it a certain way.

I cut food in sixes.

I took out a grey plate for my sons lunch, I had to put it back because I HAD TO HAVE the blue plate for him or something was going to happen.  Same thing happened for my plate, my fork, my glass, everything I did and touched had to be second guessed, and changed if my mind told me to.

I counted fingers, and letters, and words.

I went over lists and other lists over and over.

I could not make any decisions yesterday with out second guessing myself and having to do things another way.

Some of this I do anyway, yesterday was just brutal.

Today was much better.  Yes I am still doing a lot of those things, but it is not bothering me as much as yesterday.

Hoping tomorrow is a good day……

*counts to six*

cooltext115215634361661

 

 

About bipolarwhisper

Mental health blogger. Bipolar, PTSD, OCD, Anxiety. Lover of butterflies. Risen out of the ashes like a phoenix. Survivor. Contact me at: Email: bipolarwhispers@gmail.com Twitter: @bipolarwhisper
This entry was posted in Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OCD and Counting

  1. I hope today was a better day!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

