The Holidays and Mental Health

The holidays can be a stressful time for many people, financially it can be hard, or perhaps memories of holidays past are difficult or haunting.  Maybe the family gatherings are more than you are able to fully handle, maybe that one cousin whom you do not want to see shows up and disrupts the party.

Either way the holidays can be a mess for some people.  Others find so much joy in them.

For me it is a mixture of both.

There are things that I love about the holidays and there are things that I would rather not have to deal with.

And I know what comes after them.  Almost every year (probably every year) starting in January some depression hits.  I find myself not wanting to go anywhere and I am moody and touchy.  Difficult at times.

The holidays bring sentimental thoughts.  But they also bring stressful situations for me.

But we manage to get through them every year.

I would like to know how you make it through the holidays each year?  What are your go to tips to help cope with stressful situations?

cooltext115215634361661

About bipolarwhisper

Mental health blogger. Bipolar, PTSD, OCD, Anxiety. Lover of butterflies. Risen out of the ashes like a phoenix. Survivor. Contact me at: Email: bipolarwhispers@gmail.com Twitter: @bipolarwhisper
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Holidays and Mental Health

  1. hbhatnagar says:

    I’ll tell you as soon as I work some out! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m focusing on enjoyment this holiday season. While my family is all far away and I have to spend it with strangers (if I even bother). One thing I am going to do is enjoy what I choose to do that day. If my grandchildren come over I want to help them do the craft kits I got them for Christmas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Angel says:

    My holiday tips on how to avoid demons or stress or anxiety is music. Music has always been my best friend when I get depressed or have a panic attack. I use artistic tendencies to calm myself down.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

