Pieces of Me

Found this on my computer in a folder of things I have written in the past.  This was written in 2008.  I am not much for writing anything in poetry form anymore but I still thought I would share it.

Pieces of me

I watch in the shadows
as the wind takes the seeds away
and slowly begin to realize
that it also takes pieces of me

watching my dreams drift away
in the cool autumn breeze
it suddenly comes to me
How can I use the wind?

As the wind takes its course
I understand what I must do
let go of the hurt and pain
let the wind take it and run

pieces of me floating by
I watch them drift on
the blues and the greys
as the wind takes its course

the emptiness and the sorrow
start to drift with the dust
but still I hold strong
afraid to drift on

The soft wind blows
like a breath on my cheek
as if its whispering to let go
I let the wind take me

and pieces of me
start to fly away
a sense of freedom
after all this time.

…and still I go floating by…

11 thoughts on “Pieces of Me

  1. This post reminds me of a book I am reading now about an art rock indie rock art noice pioneer of former band Sonic Youth, named Kim Gordon. Book is “Girl in a Band.” She talks about how when a marriage ends, your eye focuses on minute evolutions In nature,like a seed blowing away or a flower beginning to bloom, like you would never have noticed before. That certain noises just unhinge you. Please keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. are u a fan of the cure? Robert Smith’s (lead singer) birthday just past, he did a song with that title, I think or ‘pieces of you.’ #bipolar #bipolardisorder

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment